Главная Фильмы ужасов TIFF 2021: «Ты не моя мать» подпитывает семейный страх

TIFF 2021: «Ты не моя мать» подпитывает семейный страх

by Келли Макнили
207 Просмотры
Ты не моя мать

Сценарист / режиссер Кейт Долан Ты не моя мать это леденящий душу взгляд на фольклор подменышей Ирландии и очень сильная первая особенность. Сделанный с небольшим бюджетом и посвященный фестивалю Самайн, это впечатляющий дебют Долана (чей короткометражный фильм Кошачьи крики доступно на Shudder, для тех, кому интересно). 

Ты не моя мать следует за Чар (Хейзел Доуп), тихим подростком, который живет одинокой жизнью. Ее мать-одиночка Анджела (Кэролайн Брэкен) страдает от депрессии, из-за которой она часто прикована к постели и не может выполнять свои родительские обязанности. После редкой утренней активности Анджела пропадает, ее машина подозрительно брошена в поле. По возвращении она кажется… не совсем права. Ее поведение, поза и личность очень заметно меняются. В маме есть что-то странное, и Чар постепенно приходит к пугающему выводу. Это не ее мать. 

У Доупа и Брэкена прекрасная химия, которая развивается по ходу фильма. В ранних сценах между Чар и Анжелой есть заметная стена, передающая трагическую историю; Анжела похоронена за слоями обломков, и Чар уже давно отказался от попыток выкопать ее. 

Когда Анжела снова появляется после таинственного отсутствия, Чар не знает, как принять внезапное и неожиданное внимание матери. Как и любой брошенный ребенок, она счастлива, что ее мама, казалось бы, вернулась к ней - эмоционально присутствует и изливает на нее привязанность, по которой она так сильно скучала. Но в то же время есть нежелание искренне в это верить. Доуп просто потрясающе проецирует эти конкурирующие эмоции. Она несет в себе уязвимость, которая становится все более пугающей, поскольку Анджела становится совершенно неузнаваемой в своей личности. 

Bracken невероятен, он передает целый спектр эмоций с разной интенсивностью. Она с головой окунулась в роль - физически и морально - с игрой, которая по своей глубине почти гипнотизирует. В ролях также играет Ингрид Крейги в роли Риты (матери Анжелы и бабушки Чар), тайной хранительницы семьи. Рита обладает способностями, заржавевшими годами физического дискомфорта и эмоционального бремени. Ее персонаж действительно чувствует себя немного недооцененным, но, честно говоря, мы фокусируемся не на ее истории. 

Ты не моя мать это женский фильм, в котором преобладает женский состав и очень мало обсуждаются мужские персонажи; мы не слышим об отце Чар, и в нем нет ненужного романтического побочного сюжета, только акцент на женской дружбе. Одна из хулиганов Чар, Сюзанна (Джордан Джонс), медленно сближается с Чаром из-за их общей истории с проблемной семейной жизнью. Нет ни минуты, чтобы Сюзанна сомневалась или отрицала Чар, она просто искренний, отзывчивый друг, в котором Чар отчаянно нуждается. 

Мы уже видели предания подменышей в жанрах ужасов (например, в ирландских фильмах Святыня и Дыра в земле), но есть что-то в том, чтобы сделать из подозреваемого злодея матерью, а не ребенка или другое физическое лицо, что очень эффективно. 

Анджела трансформируется на протяжении всего фильма, становясь все более неустойчивой с течением времени. Чар замечает такое странное поведение, но трудно допустить, что что-то еще может быть неправильным. Несмотря на их проблемы, Чар любит свою мать, и хотя ее действия беспокоят и действительно нервируют, еще труднее сделать вывод, что в этом миксе может быть что-то сверхъестественное, особенно с психологической историей ее матери. 

Как Натали Эрика Джеймс ' реликвия, Ты не моя мать борется с психическим здоровьем, а также с ответственностью и долгом между родителем и ребенком. Долан относится к этому с осторожностью и с большим сочувствием к молодой Чар, которая чувствует себя изолированной и одинокой, несмотря на поддерживающее присутствие ее дяди и бабушки и усилия ее учителя в школе. 

От меланхоличной партитуры до открытой, но интимной кинематографии, Ты не моя мать имеет атмосферный тон, который танцует вокруг трагедии, но никогда полностью не сдается. В фильме Долана есть энергия костра Самайна: он потрескивает и горит, с дымным послевкусием, приветствующим дух Хэллоуина. 

Я люблю хороший ужас «Молодежь в опасности», и Ты не моя мать имеет чрезвычайно хорошо продуманное и взвешенное использование этого тропа. Это история об осеннем взрослении, управляемая персонажами, с хорошо продуманными напугами, которые полагаются на производительность, а не на ведра крови. 

Если вы ищете звездную двойную функцию двойника, соедините ее с Дыра в земле. Вы больше никогда не будете смотреть на членов своей семьи так же.

 

Чтобы узнать больше о TIFF 2021, ознакомьтесь с нашими обзор Роба Сэвиджа автомобильный видеорегистратор

Translate »

Home Horror Movies TIFF 2021: ‘You Are Not My Mother’ Feeds Familial Fear

TIFF 2021: ‘You Are Not My Mother’ Feeds Familial Fear

by Kelly McNeely
335 views
You Are Not My Mother

Writer/director Kate Dolan’s You Are Not My Mother is a chilling take on the changeling folklore of Ireland, and a very strong first feature. Made on a small budget and set around the festival of Samhain, it’s an impressive debut from Dolan (whose short film Catcalls is available on Shudder, for those interested). 

You Are Not My Mother follows Char (Hazel Doupe), a quiet teenager who lives a lonely life. Her single mother Angela (Carolyn Bracken) suffers through a depression that often keeps her bedridden and unable to perform her duties as a parent. After a rare morning of activity, Angela goes missing, her car suspiciously abandoned in a field. Upon her return, she seems… not quite right. Her behavior, posture, and personality all shift in very noticeable ways. There’s something strange about mum, and Char gradually comes to a frightening conclusion. This is not her mother. 

Doupe and Bracken have a wonderful chemistry that evolves as the film progresses. In early scenes, Char and Angela have a detectable wall between them that communicates a tragic history; Angela is buried behind layers and layers of debris, and Char has long since given up trying to dig her out. 

When Angela reappears after her mysterious absence, Char doesn’t know how to accept her mother’s sudden and unexpected attention. Like any abandoned child, she’s happy that her mum has seemingly returned to her — emotionally present and showering her in the affection she’s so sorely missed. But at the same time, there’s a reluctance to truly believe in it. Doupe is absolutely stunning in her projection of these competing emotions. She carries a vulnerability that turns more fearful as Angela becomes completely unrecognizable in her personality. 

Bracken is incredible, scaling a whole range of emotions with varying intensity. She throws herself into the role — physically and mentally — with a performance that is almost hypnotic in its depth. The cast also features Ingrid Craigie as Rita (Angela’s mother and Char’s grandmother), the secret keeper of the family. Rita holds a capability that’s rusted by years of physical discomfort and emotional burden. Her character does feel a tad underused, but to be fair, it’s not her story we’re focusing on. 

You Are Not My Mother is a female-forward film, with a mainly female cast and very little discussion of male characters; we don’t hear about Char’s father, and there’s no unnecessary romantic side plot, just a focus on female friendships. One of Char’s bullies, Suzanne (Jordanne Jones), slowly bonds with Char over their mutual histories with troubled family life. There’s not a moment that Suzanne doubts or denies Char, she’s just a genuine, sympathetic friend, which Char desperately needs. 

We’ve seen the changeling lore before in horror (such as similarly Irish films The Hallow and The Hole in the Ground), but there’s something about making the suspected villain a mother — rather than a child or other physical entity — that’s extra effective. 

Angela transforms throughout the film, becoming more erratic as time goes on. Char notices these strange behaviors, but it’s hard to accept that something more could be wrong. Despite their troubles, Char loves her mother, and though her actions are concerning and genuinely unnerving, it’s even more difficult to draw the conclusion that there could be something supernatural in the mix, particularly with her mother’s psychological history. 

Like Natalie Erika James’ Relic, You Are Not My Mother grapples with mental health and the responsibility and duty between a parent and a child. Dolan broaches this with care and a great deal of empathy for young Char, who feels isolated and alone despite the supportive presence of her uncle and grandmother and the efforts from her teacher at school. 

From the melancholic score to the open yet intimate cinematography, You Are Not My Mother has an atmospheric tone that dances around tragedy, yet never fully gives in. Dolan’s film has the energy of a Samhain bonfire: it crackles and burns, with a smoky finish that hails the Halloween spirit. 

I love a good “youth in peril” horror, and You Are Not My Mother has an extremely well-crafted and well-weighted use of that trope. It’s a character driven autumnal coming-of-age tale with well-crafted scares that rely on performance, not buckets of blood. 

If you’re looking for a stellar doppelgänger double feature, pair this one with The Hole in the Ground. You’ll never look at your family members the same way again.

 

For more from TIFF 2021, check out our review of Rob Savage’s Dashcam

Translate »