الصفحة الرئيسية أفلام رعب TIFF 2021: "Dashcam" هي رحلة تشويق مليئة بالتحديات والفوضى

TIFF 2021: "Dashcam" هي رحلة تشويق مليئة بالتحديات والفوضى

صعب المشاهدة ، لكن لا يمكنك النظر بعيدًا

by كيلي مكنيلي
693 عدد المشاهدات
Dashcam روب سافاج

أصبح المخرج روب سافاج سيدًا جديدًا للرعب. أفلامه تصنع الخوف بعزم حازم. إنه يبني التوتر ، ويطلقه بضحكة خفيفة ، ويدفع في القفز الفعال الذي - حتى عندما يكون متوقعًا - مثير للدهشة. مع فيلمه الأول ، مضيف، أنشأ Savage مهرجانًا رائعًا لإخافة الحياة على الشاشة تم تصويره بالكامل على Zoom أثناء إغلاق COVID-19 الرائع لعام 2020. متابعة Blumhouse المنتجة له ​​، Dashcam ، بث مباشر للرعب من غابات إنجلترا المظلمة. 

Dashcam يتبع غاسل كاوي عبر الإنترنت يؤدي سلوكه الفوضوي إلى كابوس لا يتوقف. في الفيلم ، داشكام دي جي حرة اسمه آني (لعبت من قبل موسيقي الحياة الواقعية آني هاردي) يترك لوس أنجلوس للبحث عن كسر للوباء في لندن ، وتحطم شقة صديق وزميل سابق في الفرقة ، سترتش (عمار شذا باتيل). تقوم آني المناهضة لليبرالية ، والقذف اللاذع ، وقبعة MAGA بموقف يدلك صديقة Stretch بطريقة خاطئة (بشكل مفهوم) ، وعلامتها التجارية الخاصة من الفوضى تلحق الضرر بها أكثر مما تنفع. تحتجز سيارة وتتجول في شوارع لندن ، ويُعرض عليها مبلغ نقدي لنقل امرأة تدعى أنجيلا. توافق ، وهكذا تبدأ محنتها. 

آني شخصية فضولية. إنها تتمتع بشخصية جذابة وبغيضة ، وسريعة البديهة ومنغلقة الأفق. أداء هاردي يمشي على هذا الحبل المشدود بطاقة متهورة ؛ آني (كشخصية) - في بعض الأحيان - غير مرغوب فيه بشكل رهيب. ولكن هناك شيء عنها لا يمكنك التوقف عن مشاهدته. 

من الواضح - كما هو موضح في مقدمة ما قبل العرض من Savage - لم يكن للفيلم نص (بالمعنى الدقيق للحوار المكتوب) ، لذلك كانت خطوط حوار آني في الغالب (إن لم يكن بالكامل) مرتجلة. في حين أن هاردي نفسها قد تحمل بعض المعتقدات الهامشية ، إلا أن آني Dashcam هي نسخة مبالغ فيها عن نفسها. إنها تتشدق حول كون COVID عملية احتيال ، وتهتف بـ "feminazis" وحركة BLM ، وتحدث دمارًا في أحد المتاجر بعد أن طُلب منها ارتداء قناع. إنها ... نوع من الرهيبة. 

إنه اختيار شيق وجريء ، وضع الفيلم في يدي شخصية مروعة من الناحية الموضوعية. من المفيد أن تكون آني حادة للغاية وموسيقية موهوبة تتمتع بفن غنائي واضح في الحال. نلتقط بعض اللمحات عن هذا من خلال الفيلم ، ولكن عندما يتفوق هاردي في النهاية على الاعتمادات التي نراها حقًا في عنصرها. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن Band Car - عرض آني من سيارتها - هو في الواقع عرض حقيقي على Happs مع أكثر من 14 ألف متابع. هذا ، في الواقع ، هو كيف وجدها سافاج. انجذب إلى جاذبيتها الفريدة وذكائها العفوي ، واعتقد أنه سيكون من الرائع إلقاء نسخة من هذا في سيناريو مروع. 

عندما يتعلق الأمر بآني كشخصية ، فهي نسخة مبالغة من مجموعة معينة من المعتقدات الاجتماعية والسياسية ، وستسبب بالتأكيد بعض الانقسام في المواقف تجاه الفيلم. ولكن إذا كان هناك أي نوع يسمح للشخصيات المثيرة للانقسام بأخذ زمام المبادرة ، فهذا أمر مرعب.

Dashcam ربما يكون من الأفضل رؤيته على شاشة أصغر ، أو على الأقل من الصفوف القليلة الخلفية لشاشة كبيرة. غالبًا ما تكون الكاميرا مهتزة - جدا مهتزة - وينتقل الفصل الثالث من الفيلم إلى بعض أعمال التصوير الأكثر جنونًا وتقلصًا التي رأيتها. على الرغم من العنوان ، غالبًا ما تترك الكاميرا الشرطة. تعمل آني وتزحف وتتعطل وهي تحمل الكاميرا ، وقد يكون من الصعب معرفة ما يحدث بالضبط. 

يتمثل أحد الجوانب السلبية الرئيسية في حقيقة أنه من الصعب مشاهدة جزء كبير من الفيلم ، بسبب أعمال التصوير المهتزة للغاية. إذا كانت عالقة مع فكرة dashcam - إلى انغماس - كان من الأسهل متابعته ، لكنه أيضًا كان سيفقد الكثير من شرارة الهوس التي تغذي نار الفيلم. 

أحد العناصر التي أقدرها أنني أعلم أنها ستحبط بعض المشاهدين هو أن الأحداث هي بالأحرى ... غير محددة. لا نعرف حقًا ما يحدث أو لماذا. دفاعًا عن الحبكة المحيرة ، فهي تتيح قدرًا كبيرًا من المرونة وتضيف مستوى غريبًا من الواقع إلى الأحداث. 

إذا دخلت في موقف مرعب ، فما هي احتمالات أن تصادف بعض التسجيلات الصوتية التي تفصل وتشرح جميع الأحداث التي شاهدتها. أو أنك ستستغرق بعض الوقت لتصفح كتاب أو مقال تم اكتشافه حديثًا ، أو استجواب شاهد بمعرفة وثيقة بما يحدث. ليس من المحتمل ، هذا ما أقوله. في بعض النواحي ، هذا الارتباك والغموض هو الذي يجعل غير الواقعية أكثر واقعية. 

هناك بعض اللحظات الممتازة من اللقطات من فوق الكتف التي تقشعر لها الأبدان حقًا وممتازة في إثارة الذعر بشكل فعال. يحب Savage القفزة الجيدة ، لكن التركيز ينصب خير هنا. إنه يعرف ما يفعله ، وهو يسحبهم جيدًا.

ليس مضيف أظهر علاقة حميمة في المنزل ، Dashcam يمتد ساقيه أكثر قليلاً من خلال الخروج إلى العالم واستكشاف مواقع متعددة ، كل منها مخيف أكثر من سابقتها. بدعم من المنتج العملاق من النوع جيسون بلوم ، ينعكس Savage على تأثيرات أكبر وأكثر دموية بعيدة كل البعد عن التواضع مضيف- تأمين أجرة افعل ذلك بنفسك. مع كون هذا هو الأول من صفقة من ثلاث صور مع Blumhouse ، أشعر بالفضول لمعرفة ما سيأتي به بعد ذلك بينما يفتح العالم أكثر قليلاً. 

Dashcam لن يروق للجميع. لا يوجد فيلم يفعل ذلك. لكن موقف Savage من الدواسة إلى المعدن تجاه الرعب مثير للمشاهدة. كما Dashcam تلتقط السرعة ، فإنها تطير تمامًا عن القضبان وتتصاعد إلى خوف فوضوي خالص. إنه فيلم أكثر طموحًا مع بطل مثير للانقسام ورعب مفتوح النهاية ، ولا بد أن يلفت بعض الأنظار. السؤال هو ، كم عدد الرؤساء سوف يبتعدون. 

Translate »

Home Horror Movies TIFF 2021: ‘Dashcam’ is a Challenging, Chaotic Thrill Ride

TIFF 2021: ‘Dashcam’ is a Challenging, Chaotic Thrill Ride

Difficult to watch, but you can't look away

by Kelly McNeely
752 views
Dashcam Rob Savage

Director Rob Savage is becoming a new master of horror. His films craft fear with a determined resolve; he builds tension, releases it with a light laugh, and pushes in on effective jump scares that — even when expected — are surprisingly rattling. With his first film, Host, Savage created an impressive screen life scare fest that was filmed entirely over Zoom during the great COVID-19 lockdown of 2020. His Blumhouse-produced follow-up, Dashcam, livestreams terror from the shadowy forests of England. 

Dashcam follows a caustic online streamer whose anarchic behavior triggers a non-stop nightmare. In the film, a freestyling dashcam dj named Annie (played by real-life musician Annie Hardy) leaves L.A. to seek a pandemic break in London, crashing at the flat of a friend and former bandmate, Stretch (Amar Chadha-Patel). Annie’s anti-liberal, vitriol-spewing, MAGA hat wielding attitude rubs Stretch’s girlfriend the wrong way (understandably), and her particular brand of chaos does her more harm than good. She nabs a vehicle and roams the streets of London, and is offered a wad of cash to transport a woman named Angela. She agrees, and thus begins her ordeal. 

Annie is a curious character. She’s both charismatic and obnoxious, quick-witted and closed-minded. Hardy’s performance walks this tightrope with a reckless energy; Annie (as a character) is — at times — horrendously unlikable. But there’s something about her that you just can’t stop watching. 

Evidently — as explained in a pre-viewing introduction from Savage — the film didn’t have a script (in the strict sense of written dialogue), so Annie’s lines of dialogue were mostly (if not entirely) improvised. While Hardy herself may hold some fringe beliefs, the Annie of Dashcam is an exaggerated version of herself. She rants about COVID being a scam, raves at “feminazis” and the BLM movement, and wreaks havoc on a shop after she’s asked to wear a mask. She’s… kind of terrible. 

It’s an interesting and bold choice, putting the film in the hands of a character that’s objectively terrible. It helps that Annie is quite sharp, and a talented musician with an art for explicit on-the-spot lyricism. We catch some glimpses of this through the film, but it’s when Hardy freestyles through the end credits that we really see her in her element. Interestingly enough, Band Car — the show Annie from her vehicle — is actually a real show on Happs with over 14k followers. This, in fact, is how Savage found her. He was drawn in by her unique charisma and spontaneous wit, and thought it would be brilliant to throw a version of this into a horrific scenario. 

When it comes to Annie as a character, she is a hyperbolized version of a particular sociopolitical set of beliefs, and she will certainly cause some division in attitudes towards the film. But if there’s any genre that allows divisive characters to take the lead, it’s horror.

Dashcam is probably best seen on a smaller screen, or at least from the back few rows of a large one. The camerawork is often shaky — very shaky — and the third act of the film devolves into some of the most frantic, erratic camerawork I’ve seen. Despite the title, the camera often leaves the dash. Annie runs, crawls, and crashes with camera in hand, and it can be challenging to figure out what exactly is going on. 

A major downside is the fact that much of the film is difficult to watch, due to the overly shaky camerawork. If it had stuck with the dashcam idea — a la Spree — it would have been easier to follow, but it also would have lost much of the manic spark that fuels the film’s fire. 

One element that I appreciated that I know will frustrate some viewers is that the events are rather… undefined. We don’t really know what’s happening or why. In defense of the puzzling plot, it allows a lot of flexibility and adds a strange level of reality to the events. 

If you’re thrust into a terrifying situation, what are the odds that you’re going to stumble upon some audio recording that details and explains all the events you’ve witnessed. Or that you’ll take time to skim through a newly discovered book or article, or question a witness with intimate knowledge of what’s happening. It’s not likely, is what I’m saying. In some ways, it’s this confusion and ambiguity that makes the unreality more real. 

There are some excellent moments of over-the-shoulder shots that are truly chilling and excellent in creating an effective scare. Savage does love a good jump scare, but the emphasis is on good here. He knows what he’s doing, and he pulls them off well.

While Host showed an at-home intimacy, Dashcam stretches its legs a bit more by going out into the world and exploring multiple locations, each creepier than the last. With the support of genre giant producer Jason Blum, Savage flexes bigger, bloodier effects that are a far cry from the humble Host-era lockdown do-it-yourself fare. With this being the first of a three-picture deal with Blumhouse, I’m curious to see what he comes up with next as the world opens up a bit more. 

Dashcam won’t appeal to everyone. No film does. But Savage’s pedal-to-the-metal attitude towards horror is exciting to watch. As Dashcam picks up speed, it totally flies off the rails and escalates to pure chaotic fear. It’s a more ambitious film with a divisive protagonist and open-ended horror, and it’s bound to turn some heads. The question is, how many heads will turn away. 

Translate »