تواصل معنا

ويستعرض الفيلم

[مهرجان رائع] الليلة الماضية في سوهو: سحرنا وبرودنا حتى الموت

تم النشر

on

ليلة أمس

الغوص العميق لـ Edgar Wright في Soho هو فيلم مثير رائع يغير وتيرة واتجاه الغرفة طوال وقت تشغيلها بالكامل. يبدو أن سينما جيالو ، أو على الأقل سينما مستوحاة من جيالو ، تقدم عودة غريبة ومرحبة بها ، وهي تقوم بذلك عن طريق المخرجين الذين يقدمون لنا شيئًا بعيدًا تمامًا عن مقياس ما هو سائد. كلاهما ، رايت الليلة الماضية في سوهو وجيمس وان خبيث خرجوا متأرجحين على العودة إلى أفلام جيالي وموجة جديدة في انفجار سينمائي.

الليلة الماضية في سوهو تتبع بلدة صغيرة Eloise إلى وسط لندن بأحلام كبيرة في أن تصبح مصممة أزياء. عند وصولها ، تكتشف أنها قديمة الطراز قليلاً عندما يتعلق الأمر بأذواق الموسيقى وحياتها الاجتماعية. بعد أن اكتشفت أنها لن تتأقلم مع حفلتها طوال الليل ، وتتنمر على زملائها في الغرفة ، قررت استئجار غرفة تنتمي لسيدة أكبر سناً لطيفة تشترك في الكثير من صفات Eloise أكثر من الفتيات في سنها.

لا يتطلب الأمر من رايت أن يرفع مستوى الاتصال الهاتفي إلى 11 ويعيد Eloise إلى التأرجح في الستينيات في لندن. يحقق رايت ذلك من خلال وضع Eloise في حذاء غناء الروح الجميل ، Sandy (Anya Taylor-Joy). تتطابق ساندي مع Eloise إلى حد كبير بكل الطرق التي يمكن أن يستخدمها الشخص الجديد للحالم الكبير.

يقوم رايت بعمل لا يصدق بوضع Eloise و Sandy تقنيًا في نفس الحذاء. تم استخدام قدر هائل من سحر الكاميرا لوضع الفتاتين في نفس المكان في نفس الوقت.

كل من Anya Taylor-Joy و Thomasin McKenzie يتحركان بشكل لا يصدق في دور كل منهما. يجلب كل منهم معه انعطافاته المفجعة في العالم حيث يتم سحق الأحلام بشكل طفيف وتنتقل الآمال والأحلام بسرعة تحت السجادة.

كل شيء ليس كما يبدو مع ساندي الجميلة. يعد جاك (مات سميث) بالنجومية ساندي في لندن وقد لا يكون على مستوى. ومع ذلك ، يلعب سميث مقاربته الكلاسيكية والرائعة لدور جاك ساحرًا جدًا بالنسبة إلى Eloise أو للجمهور لمقاومته. السابق طبيب يعمل النجم حقًا على السحر السحري في كل مكان في الفصل الأول للفيلم.

تم إعداد جميع القطع المتحركة من أجل فيلم مثير يبقي الجمهور على أصابع قدميه بينما يتمايل الفيلم وينسج تحت التوقعات.

الليلة الماضية في سوهو غنية بشكل لا يصدق في التصميم والألوان. يتبادر إلى الذهن بالتأكيد أفضل ما في Argento و Bava. تم استخدام مخطط gialli لكل أسلوب خارجي بشكل رائع من قبل رايت الذي يثبت أنه طالب حقيقي وماجستير في النوع الفرعي.

أنا أعشق حقبة الستينيات في وسط لندن. يقوم رايت بعمل مرهق ومثير للإعجاب للعالم ويسمح لنا بالعيش فيه جنبًا إلى جنب مع Eloise.

يضيف كل من Diana Rigg و Terrence Stamp حضورهما الكلاسيكي والقلب وحتى الجانب الشرير للفيلم. كلا الممثلين الكلاسيكيين المدهشين يتصدرون ألعابهم ويقدمون جزءًا كبيرًا من بصماتهم السينمائية بطرق لا تصدق.

الفيلم يوجع القلب بقدر ما هو رائع. تقطع كتابة SOHO شوطًا طويلاً لإبقائنا متأصلين بعمق مع شخصياتها. بحلول النهاية ، يقنع رايت الجمهور بالجميع ما عدا القتال من أجل الصدارة. إنجاز كتابي رائع وجلبه إلى الوطن زوبعة الجمال والنعمة التي جلبها كل من جوي وماكينزي إلى أدوارهما.

الليلة الماضية في سوهو يبقي الجميع على حافة مقعدهم عن طريق جعلنا نقع في حب شخصيتين رئيسيتين. بحلول نهاية الفيلم ، لا يمكن العثور على خطأ في Eloise أو Sandy. تنتقل أهوال الفيلم من النوع القاتل بدم بارد إلى ما هو خارق للطبيعة في إيقاع واحد. يتولى رايت تنسيق تحول الرقبة المكسورة إلى النوع الأدبي ببراعة طوال الوقت.

الليلة الماضية في سوهو ستنخفض في أعلى 10 مرات في العام. مثل الكثير من أفلام رايت الأخرى ، يتطلب الأمر مشاهدتها وإعادة مشاهدتها على الفور. إنه فيلم رعب يرفع الرهان في كل زاوية يأخذها ويصدم باستمرار بطرق مبهجة. فيلم رايت أنيق وكهربائي وتقشعر له الأبدان. سيعيد تقديم الجماهير إلى أفلام giallo وليس هناك أي شيء يمكن أن أطلبه.

ويستعرض الفيلم

ليلة موعد خاطئة في فيلم Shudder السريالي المزعج "A Wounded Fawn" 

تم النشر

on

تزلف مجروح

تزلف مجروح، أحدث فيلم من إخراج ترافيس ستيفنز (فتاة في الطابق الثالث و زوجة يعقوب) يضيف إلى عودة صناعة أفلام الحنين إلى السبعينيات ويخلق شيئًا يبرز بالتأكيد عن البقية. ينحدر إلى فوضى مرعبة يقودها ثنائي مثير للإعجاب. 

عرض الفيلم لأول مرة في مهرجان تريبيكا السينمائي للاشادة ولعبت أيضا في مهرجان رائع، وسيتم العرض الأول حصريًا في قشعريرة في ديسمبر 1. 

ملصق مزيف مجروح

ميريديث (سارة ليند: زوجة يعقوب,ولفكوب) هو أمين متحف يحاول إعادة الدخول إلى مسبح المواعدة بعد علاقة مسيئة. تصادف بروس (جوش روبن: يخيفني, كلية فكاهة) ، وهو رجل لطيف ولكنه غريب الأطوار يدعوها في موعد إلى كوخه المنعزل. لم تدرك أن هذا الرجل هو في الواقع قاتل متسلسل مختل عقليا مع عينيه عليها باعتبارها ضحيته التالية. 

يبدأ الفيلم بمزاد فني حول تمثال يوناني تم العثور عليه مؤخرًا يصور رجلاً يتعرض للهجوم من قبل الآلهة لارتكابه شره ، مما شكل مقدمة الفيلم. 

قطع بشكل فعال إلى جزئين، النصف الأول من هذا الفيلم يركز على ما تتوقعه من قاتل متسلسل يستدرج ضحية أنثى جديدة إلى مقصورته في الغابة ، والتي تحمل العديد من أوجه التشابه مع فيلم مثل Fresh. النصف الثاني يتحول إلى شيء آخر ، ويتحول بشكل مفاجئ إلى فيلم مختلف يصبح أكثر شرا. 

أصلي قشعريرة تزلف الجرح
بعض التصوير السينمائي المخيف لفيلم A Wounded Fawn - مصدر الصورة: Peter Mamontoff / Shudder

تزلف مجروح تم تصويره على فيلم مقاس 16 مم ، بأشكال الحبكة وأنماط اللقطات التي تشبه سينما السبعينيات وباستخدام الدم الأحمر الفاتح الشهير على طراز السبعينيات.

يُعد الأسلوب واللون من السمات البارزة ، خاصةً أنه يدمج عالم الفن مع الأساطير اليونانية، وإنشاء لقطات يمكن أن تكون لوحات فنية بحد ذاتها وتصميم إنتاج يتجاوز المظهر الباهت في كثير من الأحيان لأفلام الرعب الحديثة. 

تزلف مجروح 2022
بعض تصاميم المخلوقات من “A Wounded Fawn” - مصدر الصورة: Shudder

يضيف عمل المؤثرات الخاصة إلى المظهر الرائع للفيلم. العديد منهم عملي ومميزات بشكل كبير ؛ هناك كمية كبيرة من الدم يراق في هذه الكابينة. هناك أيضًا تصميمات مخلوقات خيالية مشابهة لـ دوني داركو. لم تكن المخلوقات مناسبة لي دائمًا ، لكن تصميماتها الجريئة وتفردها غير عاديين.

التمثيل في هذا الفيلم هو مكانة بارزة. يتمتع الممثلان الرئيسيان ، روبن وليند ، بديناميكية رائعة: لديهما القليل جدًا من الكيمياء مع بعضهما البعض ، ويلتقطان الشعور بأنهما عالقان في الموعد الأول مع شخص لا ينقر. يُنظر إلى القصة من كلا الجانبين بطرق مختلفة ولكن متعاطفة. 

جرح فاون جوش روبن
جوش روبن في دور بروس إرنست في فيلم A Wounded Fawn - مصدر الصورة: Peter Mamontoff / Shudder

معرفة روبين في السابق ، كان من الصعب بالنسبة لي أن أراه في دور رجل عنيف متضرر نفسيا. عادة ما يلعب شخصية أبله. لكن في هذا الفيلم ، أزعجني جانبه النفسي أحيانًا.

تزلف مجروح سارة ليند
سارة ليند في فيلم "A Wounded Fawn" - مصدر الصورة: Shudder

تأتي ليند على أنها امرأة متلهفة ، ونأمل أن تكون رومانسية ، وواثقة من نفسها ، وربما متأثرة بحبها للفن. على وجه الخصوص ، حبها للفنانة والمؤلفة المشهورة مارينا ابراموفيتش.

الفيلم أيضا من النجوم مالين بار (المن ، اختبار بيتا) في دور مؤثر ، رغم صغره. 

A الجرحى الظبي مالين بار
Malin Barr في دور Alecto في "A Wounded Fawn" - مصدر الصورة: Peter Mamontoff / Shudder

يتطرق الفيلم بالتأكيد إلى الجوانب التي قد يعتبرها البعض نسوية ، على الرغم من اعتبار أنه كتبه وأخرجه رجال ، إلا أنه يبدو بسيطًا بعض الشيء - لكن مهلا ، سآخذها.

نظرًا لأن ليند ممثلة في سن الأربعين تقريبًا (على الرغم من أنك لن تعرف أبدًا أنها تنظر إلى وجهها الخالي من العيوب) ، يستكشف الفيلم موضوعات مدى صعوبة مواعدة النساء الأكبر سنًا ، وعلى نطاق واسع مدى خطورة ذلك على النساء من جميع الأعمار في نفس الموقف. يمكن أن يُنظر إلى الفيلم من بعض النواحي على أنه فيلم انتقام أنثى ، لا سيما بالمعنى الميثولوجي اليوناني. 

الجو الذي يشبه الحلم في هذا الفيلم مدعوم بعمل الكاميرا الممتع حقًا والتحرير الذي يبدو أن لديه الكثير من النية وراءه ، وبعض تصميم الصوت المخيف. 

تزلف مجروح ليس مثاليًا ، لكنه كان أصليًا للغاية وجذابًا لوقت تشغيله. إنه يرفع الفرضية الأساسية لـ قاتل ذكر ذهاني باستخدام عناصر سريالية ونفسية. يمكنني بالتأكيد أن أرى النصف الأخير مثيرًا للانقسام ، لكن أولئك الذين هم في أفلام الرعب الفوضوية والثالثة قد يستمتعون بذلك تزلف مجروح، يتدفقون قشعريرة الآن.

افحص مقطورة أدناه.

3.5 عيون من أصل 5
مواصلة القراءة

ويستعرض الفيلم

مراجعة TADFF 2022: 'MexZombies' يعرف الأطفال بخير

تم النشر

on

MexZombies

جنبا إلى جنب مع المؤلفين لويس جامبوا وسانتياغو ليمون ، صنع المخرج تشافا كارتاس احتفالًا بالشباب والحياة والحب والأفلام مع الميزة الساحرة (إن لم تكن تحمل اسمًا غريبًا) ، MexZombies. في عالم مليء بأفلام نهاية العالم عن الزومبي ، هذا الفيلم مخصص للمراهقين. 

في مجتمع مسور في المكسيك ، تأخذ احتفالات عيد الهالوين منعطفًا غير متوقع عندما يتم اجتياح الضاحية الهادئة من قبل الموتى الأحياء. فقط مجموعة صغيرة من الأطفال على دراية بالفوضى التي تدور حولهم ، ومصير العالم يقع في أيدي المراهقين. 

MexZombies نجوم طاقم طاقم من الشباب الموهوبين. مارسيلو بارسيلو صفيق كوميدي مثل كرونوس السينمائي ، إيناكي جودوي يربح القلوب باعتباره المستضعف تافو ، لوسيانا فال بارعة بشكل مثير للإعجاب مثل ساردونيك ريكس ، وتكرار تقديم فنسنت مايكل ويب لنفسه كسائح أمريكي جوني ... مضحك بشكل مدهش. يجلب هؤلاء الأطفال الكثير من أصالتهم إلى أدوارهم ، ولا يمكنك إلقاء اللوم عليهم بسبب انفجارهم وهم يشقون طريقهم عبر حشد من جيران الزومبي. ومن الجميل أن ترى مراهقين حقيقيين يلعبون في سنهم! آسف ممثلون أمريكيون يبلغون من العمر 20 عامًا ، لكنك لا تخدع أحداً.

ينسج الفيلم ببراعة مشاكل المراهقين النموذجية في حركة قتل الزومبي. MexZombies يغني نشيد المراهقين المحبطين "الآباء فقط لا يفهمون" بينما يتلاعبون بموضوعات الحب بلا مقابل والتفاوت الطبقي. يتم التعامل مع هذه الموضوعات بمستوى من النضج المحترم ؛ إنهم صغار ، لكن مشاكلهم لا تزال قائمة. خاصة عندما يقترن بكل شيء "البقاء على قيد الحياة وحفظ الجميع". 

تتشابك شخصية كرونوس بشكل خاص في هذه الشبكة الموضعية ؛ يمكن لأي شخص مهووس بالفيلم أن يتماهى مع إقالته المستمرة ، لكنه يعارض ذلك بحماس شديد الحماسة لدرجة أن الفيلم لا يصبح حزينًا أو مظلمًا أبدًا. إذا كان Tavo هو قلب الفيلم ، فإن Cronos هو الشجاعة. 

الشيء الوحيد الذي يبدو أن الفيلم يفتقر إليه هو الشعور باليأس. لنكن واضحين: هذا ليس بالأمر السيئ. إنه منعش بشكل غريب. هل هناك نقاط "نحن في لحظة مظلمة ويمكن أن تصبح صعبة"؟ نعم. لكنها بطريقة ما تظل خفيفة على قدميها ، وتدفع تفاعل الجمهور بخطى سريعة وزخم للأمام. 

MexZombies بالتأكيد يرتدي لها فيلم Zombieland التأثيرات على جعبتها - بين الإشارات العلنية (كرونوس يرتدي زي تالاهاسي لعيد الهالوين) والأقل المباشر قليلاً (الاستخدام المفرط لطفرات الدم البطيئة الحركة). إن تقدير فيلم الزومبي مرتفع في هذا الفيلم ، من روميرو إلى قصة مثيرة إلى شون من الميت. بشكل عام ، الفيلم بأكمله عبارة عن مجموعة متنوعة من مراجع ثقافة البوب ​​، والتي تضيف نوعًا ما إلى أجواء المراهقين السينمائية الكاملة. 

أفلام الزومبي هي عشرة سنتات ، لذلك عليك حقًا أن تفعل شيئًا جريئًا لتبرز. MexZombies قد لا تكون جريئة بوقاحة ، لكنها وجبة خفيفة دموية. اعتبره جزءًا من وجبة فطور متوازنة لمشاهدة الزومبي. 

MexZombies لعبت كجزء من تورونتو بعد مهرجان الفيلم المظلمتشكيلة 2022. 

مواصلة القراءة

ويستعرض الفيلم

مراجعة TADFF 2022: 'Here For Blood' يقدم لكمة بالضربة القاضية

تم النشر

on

هنا من أجل الدم

إذا علمتنا أفلام الحركة الكوميدية الصديقة للعائلة في Hulk Hogan في التسعينيات من القرن الماضي أي شيء ، فهو أن المصارع القوي هو على الأرجح أفضل شخص مؤهل لمشاهدة أطفالك. دانيال توريس هنا من أجل الدم يؤكد هذا الدرس ، ولكن مع الكثير من الدماء. ورجال الدين! إنه وقت رائع. 

In هنا من أجل الدمطالبة جامعية فيبي (جويل فارو ، مستوى 16) لإيجاد بديل عن وظيفتها المعتادة في مجالسة الأطفال حتى يكون لديها المزيد من الوقت للتحضير للامتحان القادم. أصدقاؤها مثابرون جدًا ، ولديهم وجهة نظر صحيحة ، لذلك تلجأ فيبي إلى صديقها الوعر الخشن توم (شون روبرتس ، الشر المقيم: الآخرة) لطلب خدمة كبيرة. يوافق على مضض ، وبالتالي يبدأ ليلة من الفوضى. مجموعة من الطائفيين تهاجم المنزل وتحاول اختطاف جريس عنبر توم الصغير (مايا ميسالجيفيتش ، الأولاد) ، غير مدركين أنها تحت رعاية رجل قوي العضلات ولديه موهبة حقيقية في ممارسة العنف. 

ككوميديا ​​رعب ، هناك الكثير من الضحكات في العرض. لا يتعلق الأمر بالبرنامج النصي بل يتعلق أكثر بالتسليم. مفتاح آخر للكوميديا ​​هو الفوضى الدموية التي تنفجر عبر الشاشة. هنا من أجل الدم يستخدم كميات كبيرة من الدم - دلاء منه ، على دفعات موقوتة - مما يزيد من العبثية. 

الآثار العملية تتم بواسطة The Butcher Shop FX Studio، وهم من الدرجة الأولى على أعلى مستوى من الخير الدموي الشنيع. إنها جنازة لزجة ، شريرة ، حشوية. إذا كنت تحب رعبك بجرعة كبيرة من العنف المعسكر ، هنا من أجل الدم لديه نوع من الضربات التي تبحث عنها. 

الممثلين لديهم القدر المناسب من المرح معها. روبرتس في دور جليسة الأطفال الخارقة توم أوبانون يشق طريقه من خلال جبهة قوية البنية لخلق شخصية تكبر لتعتني بها حقًا. Misaljevic بدور Grace في مرحلة مبكرة من النضوج ، ومن دواعي سروري دائمًا أن ترى الأسطورة الكندية في المسرح والشاشة ، مايكل ثيريولت (تشاكي). 

In هنا من أجل الدم، فإن المخاطر كبيرة - مصير العالم ، وما إلى ذلك - ولكن هناك تجنب غير مبالٍ للمنطق الذي لا يزال يعمل بطريقة ما. من الذي يحتاج إلى تفسير منطقي عندما يكون هناك الكثير من المرح؟ 

المخرج دانيال توريس (سرقت سيارة تيري) يُظهر ميلًا حقيقيًا للعناصر الميلودرامية التي تجعل الفيلم يعمل. في لحظات - بمساعدة كبيرة من النتيجة التركيبية للملحن نورمان أورينشتاين (المحرر) - يلعب الفيلم مثل رعب الثمانينيات الكلاسيكي. يفهم توريس المهمة ويصنع كوميديا ​​رعب مستوحاة من الماضي ومليئة بالدماء.

 حشد ممتع بالتأكيد ، هنا من أجل الدم هو متعة لمحبي الرعب الكلاسيكي في الثمانينيات ، ولكن بذوق عصري. الفيلم مليء بحب عاطفي لنوع الرعب وكل البقع التي تأتي معه.

هنا من أجل الدم لعبت كجزء من تورونتو بعد مهرجان الفيلم المظلمتشكيلة 2022.

مواصلة القراءة

Connect with us

Movie Reviews

[Fantastic Fest] Last Night in Soho: Charmed and Chilled Us to Death

Published

on

Last Night

Edgar Wright’s deep dive of Soho is an exquisitely made thriller that changes the pace and direction of the room for its entire runtime. It seems that giallo cinema, or at the very least giallo inspired cinema, is making a strange and welcome come back and its doing so by way of auteur directors who are giving us something that is totally off the barometer of what is mainstream. Both, Wright’s Last Night in Soho and James Wan’s Malignant have come out swinging on a return to gialli films and a new wave in a cinematic blast.

Last Night in Soho follows small town Eloise to Central London with big dreams of becoming a fashion designer. Upon arrival, she discovers that she is a little more old fashioned when it comes to music tastes and her social life. After discovering that she isn’t going to fit in with her party all night, bullying roommates, she decides to rent a room belonging to a nice older lady who shares a lot more of Eloise qualities than girls her own age.

It really doesn’t take Wright to turn up the stylistic dial to 11 and sweep Eloise back to swinging 60’s London. Wright achieves this by placing Eloise within the shoes of the beautiful soul singing, Sandy (Anya Taylor-Joy). Sandy matches Eloise in pretty much all the ways a new to the big ciy dreamer could.

Wright does an incredible job of technically putting Eloise and Sandy in the same shoes. An immense amount of in camera magic was used to place both girls in the same place at the same time.

Both Anya Taylor-Joy and Thomasin McKenzie are incredibly moving in their respective roles. Each bringing with it their own heartbreaking turns in the world where dreams are crushed willy nilly and hopes and dreams are quickly shoved under the carpet.

All isn’t as it seems with the beautiful Sandy. Jack (Matt Smith) is promising Sandy stardom in London and might not be up to snuff. However, Smith plays his classic and superb debonair approach to the role of Jack too charming for Eloise or an audience to resist. The former Doctor Who star is truly working magical charm all over the place in the film’s first act.

The moving pieces all set up for a thriller that keeps the audience on their toes as the film bobs and weaves under and above expectations.

Last Night in Soho is incredibly rich in its design and colors. The best of Argento and Bava definitely come to mind. A gialli blueprint for all out style is used wonderfully by Wright who proves he is a true student and master of the sub-genre.

I’m in love with the era of the sixties in Central London. Wright does a painstakingly, awe- inspired recreation of the world and lets us live in it right along side Eloise.

Both Diana Rigg and Terrence Stamp add their classic presence, heart and even sinister side to the film. Both amazing classic actors are at the top of their games offering a big part of their cinematic fingerprints in incredible ways.

The film is as heart-wrenching as it is wonderfully comprised. The writing for SOHO goes a long way for keeping us deeply grounded with its characters. By the finale, Wright convinces the audience to all but fight for the lead. A remarkable writing achievement and brought home by the whirlwind of beauty and grace that both Joy and McKenzie bring to their roles.

Last Night in Soho keeps everyone on the edge of their seat by way of making us fall in love with its two main characters. By the end of the film, no fault can be found in Eloise or Sandy. The horrors of the film, go from the cold-blooded killer type to the supernatural in single beats. Wright orchestrates those break neck turns in genre masterfully throughout.

Last Night in Soho will go down in my top 10 of the year. Much like Wright’s other films it begs to immediately be watched and re-watched. It’s a horror film that ups the ante around every single corner it takes and constantly shocks in delightful ways. Wright’s film is elegant, electric and all out chilling . It will reintroduce audiences to giallo films and there isn’t anything more I could ask for.

Movie Reviews

A Date Night Goes Wrong in Shudder’s Disturbingly Surreal ‘A Wounded Fawn’ 

Published

on

A Wounded Fawn

A Wounded Fawn, the newest film from director Travis Stevens (Girl on the Third Floor and Jakob’s Wife) adds to the resurgence of ‘70s nostalgia filmmaking and creates something that will surely stand out from the rest. It descends into terrifying chaos steered by an impressive acting duo. 

The film premiered at Tribeca Film Festival to acclaim and also played at Fantastic Fest, and will be premiering exclusively on Shudder on December 1. 

A Wounded Fawn Poster

Meredith (Sarah Lind: Jakob’s Wife,Wolfcop) is a museum curator trying to reenter the dating pool after an abusive relationship. She runs into Bruce (Josh Ruben: Scare Me, College Humor), a sweet but offputting man who invites her on a date to his secluded cabin. Little does she realize that this man is actually a mentally ill serial killer with his eyes on her as his next victim. 

The film opens with an art auction around a recently found Greek statue depicting a man being attacked by gods for his evildoing, shaping the premise of the film. 

Effectively cut into two parts, the first half of this film focuses on what you would expect with a serial killer luring a new female victim to his cabin in the woods, bearing many similarities to a film like Fresh. The second half turns into something else, surprisingly morphing into a different film that becomes far more sinister. 

A Wounded Fawn Shudder Original
Some of the eerie cinematography of “A Wounded Fawn” – Photo Credit: Peter Mamontoff/Shudder

A Wounded Fawn was shot on 16mm film, with plot tropes and shot styles resembling ’70s cinema and using the iconic ‘70s-style bright red blood.

Style and color are a big highlight, especially since it merges the art world with Greek mythology, creating shots that could be paintings themselves and a production design that goes beyond the often drab look of modern horror films. 

A Wounded Fawn 2022
Some creature designs from “A Wounded Fawn” – Photo Credit: Shudder

The special effects work adds to the impressive look of the film. Many of them are practical and heavily featured; there’s a good amount of blood spilling in this cabin. There are also imaginative creature designs similar to Donnie Darko. The creatures didn’t always work for me, but their bold designs and uniqueness are extraordinary.

The acting in this film is a standout. The two main actors, Ruben and Lind, have a great dynamic: they have very little chemistry with each other, capturing the feeling of being stuck on a first date with someone who doesn’t click. The story is seen from both of their sides in different but sympathetic ways. 

A Wounded Fawn Josh Ruben
Josh Ruben as Bruce Ernst in “A Wounded Fawn” – Photo Credit: Peter Mamontoff/Shudder

Knowing Ruben previously, it was difficult for me to see him in the role of a psychologically-damaged, violent man; he usually plays a goofy character. But, in this film, his psycho side sometimes unsettled me.

A Wounded Fawn Sarah Lind
Sarah Lind in “A Wounded Fawn” – Photo Credit: Shudder

Lind comes off as a yearning, hopefully romantic, and also confident, surefooted woman, perhaps influenced by her love of art. In particular, her love of the famous hardcore performance artist and author Marina Abramovic.

The film also stars Malin Barr (Honeydew, The Beta Test) in a role that, while small, is impactful. 

A Wounded Fawn Malin Barr
Malin Barr as Alecto in “A Wounded Fawn” – Photo Credit: Peter Mamontoff/Shudder

The film definitely touches on aspects that some might consider feminist, although considering it was written and directed by men, it does come off as a little simplistic — but hey, I’ll take it.

As Lind is an actress around 40 (although you would never know it looking at her flawless face), the film explores the themes of how difficult it is for older women to date, and broadly how dangerous it is for women of all ages in the same situation. The film in some ways could be viewed as a female revenge flick, particularly in the Greek mythology sense. 

The dreamlike atmosphere of this film is aided by really fun camera work and editing that seems to have a lot of intention behind it, and some eerie sound design. 

A Wounded Fawn isn’t perfect, but it was highly original and engaging for its runtime. It elevates the basic premise of a psychotic male killer by using surreal, and psychological elements. I can definitely see the last half being divisive, but those who are into chaotic and trippy horror films might enjoy A Wounded Fawn, streaming on Shudder now.

Check out the trailer below.

3.5 eyes out of 5
Continue Reading

Movie Reviews

TADFF 2022 Review: ‘MexZombies’ Knows the Kids Are Alright

Published

on

MexZombies

Along with writers Luis Gamboa and Santiago Limón, director Chava Cartas has crafted a celebration of youth, life, love, and film with the charming (if not awkwardly named) feature, MexZombies. In a world full of violent zombie apocalypse movies, this one’s for the teens. 

In a gated community in Mexico, Halloween festivities take an unexpected turn when the quiet suburb is overrun by the shambling undead. Only a small group of kids are aware of the chaos unfolding around them, and the fate of the world falls into their teenage hands. 

MexZombies stars an ensemble cast of talented young’uns. Marcelo Barcelo is comically cheeky as cinephile Cronos, Iñaki Godoy wins hearts as underdog Tavo, Luciana Vale is impressively savvy as sardonic Rex, and Vincent Michael Webb’s repeated self introduction as American tourist Johnny is… surprisingly funny. These kids bring a lot of their own authenticity to their roles, and you can’t blame them for having a blast as they slash their way through a horde of zombie neighbors. And it’s nice to see actual teenagers playing their age! Sorry 20-something year old American actors, but you’re not fooling anyone.

The film deftly weaves typical teen troubles into the zombie-killing action. MexZombies sings the frustrated teenage anthem of “parents just don’t understand” while juggling themes of unrequited love and class disparity. These themes are approached with a level of respectful maturity; they’re young, but their troubles are still valid. Especially when combined with the whole “survive and save everyone” thing. 

The character of Cronos is particularly tangled in this topical web; any dorky movie nerd can identify with his continued dismissal, but he counters it with such impassioned enthusiasm that the film never gets too broody or dark. If Tavo is the heart of the film, Cronos is the guts. 

One thing the film seems to be lacking is any sense of despair. Let’s be clear: this is not a bad thing. It’s oddly refreshing. Are there “we’re at a dark moment and it could get rough” points? Yes. But it somehow stays light on its feet, pushing audience engagement with quick pacing and forward momentum. 

MexZombies definitely wears its Zombieland influences on its sleeve – between the overt references (Cronos dressed as Tallahassee for Halloween) and the slightly less direct (the overuse of slow-motion blood spurts). The appreciation of the zombie film oeuvre is high in this one, from Romero to Thriller to Shaun of the Dead. Overall, the whole film is a smorgasbord of pop culture references, which actually kind of adds to its whole teenager cinephile vibe. 

Zombie movies are a dime a dozen, so you really have to do something bold to stand out. MexZombies may not be brazenly bold, but it is a light, bloody snack. Consider it part of a zombie-watching balanced breakfast. 

MexZombies played as part of the Toronto After Dark Film Festival‘s 2022 lineup. 

Continue Reading

Movie Reviews

TADFF 2022 Review: ‘Here For Blood’ Serves a Knockout Punch

Published

on

Here for Blood

If Hulk Hogan’s 1990s family-friendly action comedies have taught us anything, it’s that a burly wrestler is quite possibly the best qualified person to watch your kids. Daniel Turres’ Here For Blood confirms this lesson, but with a whole lot more blood. And cultists! It’s a great time. 

In Here For Blood, college student Phoebe (Joelle Farrow, Level 16) is encouraged to find a substitute for her regular babysitting gig so she has more time to prepare for an upcoming exam. Her friends are pretty persistent, and they have a valid point, so Phoebe turns to her rugged rough-and-tumble boyfriend Tom (Shawn Roberts, Resident Evil: Afterlife) to ask the big favor. He reluctantly agrees, and thus begins a night of mayhem. A group of cultists attack the home and attempt to kidnap Tom’s young ward, Grace (Maya Misaljevic, The Boys), unaware that she’s under the care of a heavily muscled man with a real knack for violence. 

As a horror comedy, a lot of the laughs are in the presentation; it’s less about the script and more about the delivery. Another key to its comedy is in the bloody mess that erupts across the screen. Here For Blood uses ample amounts of blood – buckets of it, in timed spurts – which just adds to the absurdity. 

The practical effects are done by The Butcher Shop FX Studio, and they’re top notch over-the-top gruesome gory goodness. It’s gooey, gnarly, visceral fun. If you like your horror with a heavy dose of campy violence, Here For Blood has just the kind of bare-knuckle punch you’re looking for. 

The cast have just the right amount of fun with it. Roberts as babysitter extraordinaire Tom O’Bannon charms his way through a burly front to create a character that you really grow to care for. Misaljevic as Grace is endearingly precocious, and it’s always a treat to see Canadian legend of stage and screen, Michael Therriault (Chucky). 

In Here For Blood, the stakes are high – the fate of the world, etc etc – but there’s a carefree avoidance of logic that somehow still works out. Who needs a rational explanation when there’s so much fun to be had? 

Director Daniel Turres (Terry’s Car Gets Stolen) shows a real flair for the melodramatic elements that make the film work. At moments – greatly aided by the synthy score from composer Norman Orenstein (The Editor) – the film plays like a cult classic 80s horror. Turres understands the assignment and crafts a plucky retro-inspired blood-soaked horror comedy.

 A surefire crowd-pleaser, Here For Blood is a treat for fans of classic 80s horror, but with a modern flair. The film is full of a passionate love for the horror genre and all the splatter that comes with it.

Here For Blood played as part of the Toronto After Dark Film Festival‘s 2022 lineup.

Continue Reading